Workout Diary 8: Incremental Recovery

So, it is 2017 and a new year is upon us.

I am about 178 pounds (classified as overweight) and my target weight is around 150.

Height:       Normal:                                  Overweight:                             Obese:

5′ 7″ 121 to 158 lbs. 159 to 190 lbs. 191 to 249 lbs.

I take QVAR, a maintenance inhaler for asthma, which may always be needed due to scarring of my lungs from a lifetime with asthma; and also a PRN (as needed) inhaler, for which I may be able to minimize or eliminate use with weight loss.

I am also on a medication for high cholesterol, and 10 or so years ago, a clinician told me I’d never go off of that, but a Kaiser physician reduced it when I was working out in 2014, and said if I continued the “uptick” that I could possibly eliminate it; another reason to eat better/lose some extra pounds.

Further, I take some psychotropic medications, and am of the opinion that if I can reduce the amount of pharmaceutical intake, that I may increase my life expectancy and/or health and life enjoyment. Reducing the psychotropics is something that my psychiatrist has to OK.

Self-medication, or taking oneself off psychotropics, generally leads to worsening of symptoms. That is where a psychiatrist can add expertise and greater objectivity.  Plus, I’ll feel better knowing they approve.

Exercising has proved difficult and painful of late. Difficult as I am overweight and out of practice, and painful for the same reasons. That is why my recovery workouts are going to be very incremental, progressive by small strides at the start.

If you are out of shape, even if it has been a long time since you felt fit, you can start as slow and small as you like with your exercise. In most cases, your body should start to respond, however slowly, by feeling better, and you’ll then want to take on just a bit more next time.

Blessings to you in your workout journey of 2017

86539870

Leave a Reply

