FitzGerald Press

Books, Business, Faith, Movies, Sports, and More

I Come to Bring a Sword

I do not like to bring a sword, as we all want peace, but division is needed in some cases; so let me start with myself! I have many things I tend to think, say, and do, that are unedifying, cruel, or sinful.

If I am wise and strong, I will attempt to take the sword of the spirit and cleave those things away from my spirit man; or let God do that.

I could be craving an unneeded snack, a forbidden look, or something worse.  If I can substitute something else for those, then evasive action is required. Jesus said he did not come to bring peace, but a sword:

The Sword of the Gospel

But whoever denies Me before men, I will also deny him before My Father in heaven. Do not assume that I have come to bring peace to the earth; I have not come to bring peace, but a sword. For I have come to turn ‘A man against his father, a daughter against her mother, a daughter-in-law against her mother-in-law.…

-Matthew 10:33-35

Is Jesus saying to hate your family?? No, but he is saying that when you make the decision to follow Him, you will be in opposition to those who are against Him.  You cannot be on both sides:

No one can serve two masters, for either he will hate the one and love the other, or he will be devoted to the one and despise the other.

-Matthew 6:24

So by starting with me, I need look at that man in the mirror 😉 and see what I need to let go of; whatever the cost: I may damage my pride, my arrogance, my lust, my greed.  Whoa, this is not an easy road, eh?

Do not think because I write of these things that I have them conquered, but know that I am more aware of the battle now, and am praying to remain watchful so that I do not lapse into sin.

Love one another, bless those who persecute you, do good to all as much as possible, but don’t turn your back on God and His Word.  These things are not always mutually exclusive.

God bless you

Two Edged Sword

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 21, 2016 by in Faithfulness and tagged , , , , .
