Autumn Hope

As the leaves fall and the light is fading, weather becomes crisp, and hope springs anew in me.  A lamp goes on at my chair and I write with more vigor; my steps are lighter and my woes seem easier.

Is it the calm before a storm, or is it the norm for me when the autumn approaches, that I feel God’s Hand bringing change and preparing to sow new life? I reflect now on better things, and my countenance is a bit brighter.

My sin is profound and my attitude needs adjusting.  I recover from a fall; a fall of error and compromise in the face of extreme struggle.  I had told myself: but He said He’ll not give me more than I can bear, but here I was, in over my head.

Now I feel that last winter’s storm has passed, the summer a crucible of unlikely healing, and the fall a time for meaningful change.  Hopefully that is what is on the table for me, and I pray the same for you.

Now: May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.

Leave a Reply

