FitzGerald Press

Books, Business, Faith, Movies, Sports, and More

Dads and Sons

I had an absentee dad for some time, until my step-dad came into the picture. My step-dad worked, studied, and enjoyed his hobbies; quietly and diligently; dedicated and thorough in each of these areas, if verbally silent on the subject of manhood. He had received his own “wounds”, and accepted me as his own son, if a very flawed one.

A few years before my step-dad passed away unexpectedly, my dad called out of the blue. I had two choices as I saw it: bury the hatchet or drive it deep. I chose the former. My dad and I then forged a good bond, mostly over the telephone, for 17 years. He died in 2010, after giving me much encouragement; and a greater sense of who I was.

Our Heavenly Father did not intend his children to discover their identity piecemeal, but He did say good can come from adversity. After the fall, many men still learned to be men of character, but this achievement seems to have become somewhat tenuous as time has passed.

God is in complete control, and no one knows the hour or the day of Christ’s return; but the deterioration of the family, and especially a dad’s inclination or ability to bestow proper manhood on his sons, is a possible sign of the end-times.

If we as men will make the most of every opportunity to learn and grow as mature men of God, pray for God’s guidance, and walk as carefully as possible; we will meet our family’s needs, help lead others to Christ, and bring glory to God.

My dads weren’t perfect, but each left me something positive to build on. I can ruminate on the negative aspects of my upbringing, or I can cling to the good points. The Lord provides a multitude of ways for men to be better, so we must learn to capitalize on those.

0114121504a

One comment on “Dads and Sons

  1. Marina Vedovi
    March 11, 2014

    A thoughtful and poignant article, I think, with the caveat that a reading of history shows good, less good and vile parents throughout. Nostalgia and movies can lead us to believe that the past was better; talking with older folk and reading accounts of times long gone evokes a different conclusion.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 3, 2013 by in Manhood and tagged , , , , , , .
